ZEUS

ZEUS
ZEUS

Price:
$400

Description:
LISTED BY SHAMROQ
 
ZEUS
Alaskan Malamute x Siberian Husky
6 month old male
Location: Cashmere
Adoption Fee: $400 (includes desexing, C5 vaccination, parasite treatment, microchipping & transfer of microchip into new owner’s name)

‘Tis I, Zeus…the King of the Gods, lord of the sky & supreme ruler of heaven & earth. Just jokes! I may be named after him, but one glance at me will reveal that it’s not a Greek god who stands before you…just a gangly pup, trying to grow into these massive ears & paws.

Like all dogs of my age, I’m just learning the rules – testing them often & breaking them completely sometimes too. I’ll need a patient person in my life…someone who understands that I’m still learning, someone committed to seeing me through the challenging stage & helping me grow into the best dog that I can be. Most importantly, I’ll need someone who accepts that puppies are, by nature, mischievous & are completely unaware of the value of whatever cherished items you accidentally leave out for us to destroy! 

The up-side to my tender age is that I’m a blank canvas - you can train me from scratch. I already know ‘sit’ & ‘come’, though true to my breed, I can tend to ignore this command & should never be allowed off-lead unless in a securely fenced area. I’m housetrained & walk fairly well on-lead, though I’m easily distracted. Oh look! A butterfly!

My sense of adventure dictates that fencing in my new home should be 6ft high & preferably digproof, as I’m keen to pop next door & introduce myself. You see, strangers are just friends I haven’t met yet! The ones I’m really interested to meet under the fence are other doggy buddies. My new home must have another dog, as I adore their company (even small breeds). This will not only help expend some of my endless energy, but may even teach me some nice manners if my new canine companion is calm & mature. Kittycat friends are not an option, due to my naturally high prey drive.

I’m going through a growth spurt that makes me well…rather clumsy & awkward. I’m all legs & ears at the moment, but I’m sure it will even out over time & I could be quite a big boy when fully-grown. I’m oblivious to my size & still do some typically puppylike playful nipping, so any children in my new family will be aged 8+. I’m very active & enjoy daily walks, tug-o-war & fetching & playing with balls. Meeting my exercise requirements will be important – young dogs who aren’t given sufficient physical & mental stimulation rarely choose to use that excess energy constructively!

I guess what I’m saying is…sure, puppies are cute, but they’re challenging. What you get out of me will be a direct result of what you put in. With sufficient training, stimulation, interaction & love, I can become a model citizen. If you think you’re up for the challenge, please head over to www.shamroq.org.au/forms.html and submit an adoption application.